Leave a comment

Just Finished: The Queen’s Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

          

Photo Credits: The Book Smugglers & The Book Depository

Title: The Queen’s Thief Series (Consisting of The ThiefThe Queen of AttoliaThe King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings) 

Note: The author has no name for the series itself, but fans have coined it The Queen’s Thief

Author: Megan Whalen Turner

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Stand alone or series: Series

Gen, Eugenides is a thief. He boasts that he can steal anything. That lands him in the King of Sounis’ prison where he spends a couple of months until he is offered, by the King’s Magus, his freedom but in return he has to steal something that people don’t even think really exists. (The Book Smugglers)

How did I get this book: Bought (All four novels were bought as US paperback editions from The Book Depository)

Why did I read this book: I was skimming through The Book Smugglers 10 rated books, and came across Ana‘s review of the series. I stopped reading the review after the first few paragraphs, because I was hooked by her excitement and passion for the series. I was swept away by her words…

I am totally, irrevocably, head over heels in love with this series.

I now completely understand the fervor, the excitement that this series inspire. As I was reading the books, as the pages were being turned I had only one thought in mind: this is why I read. THIS is why I read. THIS IS WHY I READ.

So, after reading those words, the first thing I did was hop online to my favourite book store and order the first book in the series, The Thief.

My Thoughts: The moment I finished reading The Thief, I went straight online and ordered the next three books – all in one go. The book was so enjoyable, and I was eager to see what other adventures Eugenides would embark upon.

It was probably 6 months to a year later, before I pulled The Queen of Attolia from my bookshelf. I had vaguely remembered that The Thief was one of those books in which I stopped at the end, and took a moment to appreciate how great the story was.

Once I started The Queen of Attolia, there was no stopping the momentum. I couldn’t put it down, I would read until I was exhausted and could barely keep my eyes open. As soon as it was finished, I would pick up The King of Attolia and continue, as if I were starting a new chapter in the book, rather than beginning a new novel. And that was how I continued into A Conspiracy of Kings. I read the last three novels as though they were a singular book, picking the next book up as soon as I had finished the previous.

Turner’s story and narrative was so engaging and addictive, I couldn’t stop reading (although, occasionally her sentence structure had me re-reading paragraphs, just to make sure I was processing her words correctly).

Two short stories (concerning Eddis) were included as extras in The King of Attolia and A Conspiracy of Kings, which i felt was a brilliant addition to the series, adding depth and background to her tales. Also included in A Conspiracy of Kings,was a ‘Recommended’ section, where Turner listed and described some of her favourite books and authors. I particularly loved this idea, as I’m always struggling to find sources to help me decide what my next book should be. (Turner dedicated A Conspiracy of Kings to Diana Wynne Jones, one of my favourite authors, so I feel her taste in books is probably not too far from my own.)

To sum up: An incredibly enjoyable read – highly recommended.

Others rating(s): 

My Rating:

The series as a whole  – 8 – Excellent

  • The Thief 9 – Near Perfection
  • The Queen of Attolia – 7 – Very good 
  • The King of Attolia – 8 – Excellent
  • A Conspiracy of Kings – 8 – Excellent

Reading next: Her Fearful Symmetry – Audrey Niffenegger

 Next book entry: Finish fewer books

Leave a comment

