Leave a comment

Finish fewer books

I love to read. Unfortunately, I don’t read as often as I’d like to, and definitely not as often as I used to. Lately, I rarely pick up a book.

I’ve found that there is so much to see, so much to do that there are so few opportunities for ‘guilt-free’ reading.
Thus, the intro to Finish Fewer Books by Itswaypastmybedtime really resonated with me.

“Life is too short to read sucky books. Why should I waste my time and my efforts reading something that I’m just not enjoying. And it’s not to say that the book is bad, I’m just not getting out of it, what the writer put into it.”
– Carrie Fletcher

This had me thinking about books that I love so much, I don’t just devour them once, but time and time again. The visibly worn and well-loved books that have earned their place on my library shelf.
The long-standing VIBs (very important books) of The Perch Library.

Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling | 10 – One of the best series I’ve ever read

Graceling Series by Kristin Cashore | 9 – Near Perfection

  • Specifically:
    • Graceling | 9 – Near Perfection
    • Fire | 10 – One of the best books I’ve ever read
    • Bitterblue | 7 – Very good

Chrestomanci Series by Diana Wynne Jones | 9 – Near Perfection

  • Specifically:
    • Charmed Life | 10 – One of the best books I’ve ever read
    • Lives of Christopher Chant | 10 – One of the best books I’ve ever read

The Muddle Headed Wombat by Ruth Park | 9 – Near Perfection

A children’s book that is sweet, warm, clever and funny. This book never fails to put a smile on my face, and often leaves me laughing out loud. This is the first book I reach for when I need to lift my mood. Enjoyable for all ages.

Top Ten Greek Legends by Terry Deary | 8 – Excellent

Light-hearted, witty, cheeky and a clever spin on your classic greek legends. It’s a speedy light read. Thoroughly enjoyable. Greek legends as you’ve never seen them before.

What are the VIBs of your library?

Previous book entry: The Queen’s Thief Series by Megan Whalen Turner

Next book entry: Just Finished: Paper Towns by John Green

Leave a comment

