Leave a comment

Microsoft Surface Pro 3 – First Impressions

Sony NEX 7 | Sony E 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OSS ISO 1600| f/5.6 | 1/20


Product:
Microsoft Surface Pro 3 – 256GB 8GB Intel i7

Date Obtained: 31st December 2014

How did I get this product: Bought online (Microsoft Store – $1646.10AUD student price on 24th Dec ‘14)

Reasons for purchasing this product:

  • Size/form – I was drawn to the thin, lightweight design of the Surface Pro 3. The 12 inch screen strikes the right balance between portability and comfortable usability.
  • FunctionalityA tablet that runs a full OS, with reasonable memory and processing power.

Sony NEX 7 | Sony E 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OSS ISO 1600| f/6.3 | 1/20

*Note: I intentionally did not purchase the type cover. For now, I want to experience it as a tablet with the functionality of a PC, rather than a laptop replacement. Also, I feel it adds bulk and weight to a currently sleek device.

Intended Use:

  1. University – I’ve always preferred writing to typing. The Surface Pro 3 allows me to write notes on pdf lecture slides and store it in an electronic format. I’m aiming to keep printed notes to a minimum this year.
  2. Travel – Taking photos is one of the highlights of my travels. I wanted a light and convenient device to back up my photos as well as the ability to do quick touch-ups on Photoshop before sharing them. The Surface Pro 3 is lighter than a laptop (I currently own a 13” MacBook) and has more functionality than a tablet.

Sony NEX 7 | Sony E 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OSS ISO 1600| f/5.6 | 1/20My Thoughts:

I like: The Surface Pen is smooth and responsive. Erase and Select buttons on the pen make it very convenient to edit your work.

I dislike: Lack of quality apps in the Microsoft Store (not a flaw of the device – but certainly subtracts from the experience)

Sony NEX 7 | Sony E 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OSS ISO 1600| f/6.3 | 1/20Bonus Points: A USB port is included in the charger, allowing the option to charge a USB device with the Surface Pro 3 charger.

Concerns: I’m acutely aware of how easy it will be to misplace the Surface Pen


Accessories:

  1. Incipio ORD Sleeve for Microsoft Surface Pro 3 – $45 JB Hi-Fi (31st Dec ’14)
    • I chose a sleeve over a folio case as I didn’t want to block the air vents, nor did I want to add bulk/weight to this product.
  2. Microsoft Office Home & Student 2013 – $118 Officeworks (31st Dec ’14)
  3. NVS Ultra Clear Screenguard 2 pack for Microsoft Surface Pro 3 – $24 JB Hi-Fi (2nd Jan ’15)
    • The screen protector adds friction to the touch screen – but this becomes less of an issue with increased usage.
  4. Trend Micro Maximum Security (2 devices) 1yr – $38.95 Officeworks (2nd Jan ’15)

My rating:

8 – Excellent! Highly Recommended

This post is dedicated to Annette.

Currently Contemplating:  Sony Smartphone Attachable Lens QX100

Have a question or opinion? Leave me a comment below (:

Leave a comment

